> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://docs.stitchflow.io/documentation/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://docs.stitchflow.io/documentation/getting-started/manage-connections.md).

# Manage connections

Manage permissions for all connected tools in your workspace.

## Overview

Manage connection permissions from the connections page. Connections allow you to configure default workspace access and create access overrides for fine-grained access to data and actions within tools.

{% hint style="info" %}
Only admins can manage workspace connections. Members can request connection access, but cannot enable, disable or modify access.
{% endhint %}

## Configuring connections

Admins can view, configure, enable and disable tools by going to `Connections` > Click the `...` menu on any connection > `Manage permissions`

Enabled connections will be listed on the `Connections` page and include connection status, date connected, the user who connected the tool, and options to manage permissions and remove the connection.

Admins can connect new integrations by clicking `New connection`, which will display a list of tools that have not been connected yet. They can also view and approve connection requests, which members submit for access to a restricted connection, by clicking into the `Requests` tab.&#x20;

### Connection status

When connections are enabled, they can have multiple states:

* **Connected**: a connection is enabled and synced without any issues.
* **Syncing**: a connection was recently connected and it is still syncing data.
* **Reauthorize**: a connection has new scopes available that require reauthorization.
* **Error**: there's an issue with a connection and it's no longer syncing data.

### Managing permissions

#### Default workspace access

Every connection enables all data and actions by default, which means all users in the workspace can view and run any data or action allowed by the user who enabled the connection.&#x20;

* **Data**: access to view and create boards with any available field.
* **Actions**: access to view and trigger any available action.

You can restrict default workspace access to specific fields and actions by:

1. Clicking `Edit` next to data and actions
2. Deselecting any available field or action
3. Clicking `Save`&#x20;

#### Access overrides

Access overrides allow admins to grant custom permissions to individual users or a group of users.

{% hint style="info" %}
Access overrides do not apply to workspace admins. Admins will always have access to all available fields and actions allowed by the user who enabled the connection.
{% endhint %}

To add an access override:

1. Click `Manage permissions` on any connection
2. Click `Add override`
3. Select a user or group
4. Deselect any field or action
5. Click `Save`

You can edit permissions or remove an access override by clicking the `...` menu next to the override. When an access override is removed, any user or group part of the override will receive default workspace access to the connection.

### Connection access

Members without access to a connection can request access from the `Connections` page. Admins will receive an email notification to approve connection requests.&#x20;

If a connection has already been enabled, approving a user will grant them default workspace access. If a connection is not yet enabled, an admin will be prompted to enable it.
